Critical Review For Pros and Cons of Social Networking Sites By: Leong Pui Yin & Lydia Ho Yung Lin

Get Started. It's Free
or sign up with your email address
Critical Review For Pros and Cons of Social Networking Sites By: Leong Pui Yin & Lydia Ho Yung Lin by Mind Map: Critical Review For Pros and Cons of Social Networking Sites By:  Leong Pui Yin  & Lydia Ho Yung Lin

1. 1. Dr. Jain R., 30 June 2010, Four Ways Social Media is Changing Your Relationships, Retrieved on 12 April 2018 from 4 Ways Social Media Is Changing Your Relationships 2. Koifman Natasha, 17 October 2013, Updated 23 January 2014, Can Social Media Actually Benefit Relationships?, Retrieved on 12 April 2018 from https://www.huffingtonpost.ca/natasha-koifman/social-media-and-relationships_b_4115588.html 3. Kirchheimer Sid, n.d., Play It Safe on Social Networks: Restrict Your Personal Information Or Your Risk of Identity Theft May Double, Retrieved on 12 April 2018 from https://www.aarp.org/money/scams-fraud/info-11-2012/social-network-safety.html 4. Foster James, 11 February 2015, A Match Made in Heaven: Fraud and Social Media, Retrieved on 12 April 2018 from https://www.securityweek.com/match-made-heaven-fraud-and-social-media 5. Norcross N., 11 January 2018, Social Media And Content Marketing Trends That Will Shape 2018, Retrieved on 12 April 2018 from https://www.forbes.com/sites/forbesagencycouncil/2018/01/11/social-media-and-content-marketing-trends-that-will-shape-2018/#3bd3254033d7 6. Dalog Francis Jr., 2017, Miscommunication With Social Media, retrieved on 26/4/2018 from https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.theodysseyonline.com/miscommunication-with-social-media.amp#ampshare=https://www.theodysseyonline.com/miscommunication-with-social-media 7. George N. Root lll, nil, Examples of Miscommunication at the Workplace, Retrieved on 26/4/2018 from smallbusiness.chron.com/examples-miscommunication-workplace-11507.html

2. Introductory Paragraph

2.1. - Article entitled "What are the pros and cons of social networking sites?" by Strickland, J. reports on the advantages and disadvantages of social networking sites.

3. Body Paragraph 1

3.1. - Based on the article about the pros and cons of social networking sites that we’ve read, we agreed that the social networking sites help to maintain the relationship between each other. - This is because it connects people from far distance or nearby.

3.2. - For example, social media like Facebook gives us the opportunity to maintain the relationships with friends and family regardless of distance. - Also, we can always keep in touch with old friends. - With just a few clicks, we are able to share our life experiences with our old colleagues or friends from high school. - Futhermore, parents are able to contact with their children who are travelling and studying abroad. - There is a reason why Facebook has over billion users; it connects people.

3.3. - Pierre Bourdieu(2010), a French sociologist, - states that those who attain top leadership positions tend to have broad social networks. - One way they did this was by having large networks that were loosely organized and not particularly intimate. - In addition, we are able to connect with people that we would never have the opportunity to meet, simply because we are allowed access — instead of having to be in the right place at the right time.

4. Body Paragraph 2

4.1. Agreed that social networking sites can trick people to download malicious software. - This kind of action is done by “scammers,” which they trick people in any way to achieve what they want.- -Scammers use all kinds of sneaky approaches to steal your personal details. They can use your identity to commit fraudulent activities such as using your credit card or opening a bank account.

4.2. - For example, sometimes we always receive messages from an anonymous number or a friend that asked us to provide our personal information - in order to stand a chance to win attractive grand prizes such as cash reward up to RM80k.

4.3. - James Foster (2015) - states that social media is the fraudsters’ playground—an unregulated, highly visible, abusive platform that connects with billions of people and serves a host of purposes in a hacker’s repertoire. - mostly Facebook users has a "public" profile that allows anyone to see such information, estimates the 2012 Identity Fraud Industry Report by Javelin Strategy & Research. - The rate of scammering is even higher especially for those who accept "friend" requests from strangers.

5. Body Paragraph 3

5.1. Disagreed that users cannot use these sites to network professionally. -Miscommunication occurs easily through communicating with people indirectly using social networking sites because we tend to misinterpret the actual message brought up by others through text. -When we deal matters with people through social networking sites, the absence of facial expression, tone of voice, body language and eye contact, we have very little help to discern what others are trying to express (Ritter M, 2015).

5.2. For example, if two employees are given instructions to move a new stock delivery into the warehouse, one employee may interpret those instructions as requiring the product to be put on the shelves while the other employee determines that the product need only be placed in the warehouse off the loading dock. Hence, the company needs to provide detailed instructions along with training employees to seek clarification of directions in order to cut down on misinterpretation.

5.3. -Therefore, we are adviced to communicate face-to-face rather than communicating through social networking site because we can deliver our ideas at one go.

6. Reference

7. Conclusion

7.1. In a nutshell, social networking sites have innumerable pros and cons. Based on my opinion is, that social networking sites are fundamental a very good thing, because we have all our friends, no matter how far they are away, “around” you. I use some networks almost every day but I try not to post too much information about my location or my plans. Despite the disadvantages, I will still use my Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc., because sometimes I need to get information about the things that I am interested in. Therefore, we are advise to use networks or in general personal stuff wisely, so that it will not be a problem if we share something with people we like.

7.1.1. in