Branches of Government

Get Started. It's Free
or sign up with your email address
Rocket clouds
Branches of Government by Mind Map: Branches of Government

1. The Executive Branch

1.1. Powers

1.1.1. Being able to veto or reject and proposed a law Appoint federal judges Grant pardons, or forgiveness, for a crime

1.2. President

1.2.1. Must be 35 years old Natural Born Citizen U.S Live in the US for 14 years

1.3. Vice President

1.3.1. Must be at least 35 years old; Must be a resident in the U.S. for at least 14 years. Must be a Natural-Born U.S.

1.4. There are 15 executive departments

1.4.1. 1. Department of State 11. Department of Transportation 2. Department of the Treasury. 12. Department of Energy 3. Department of Defense 13. Department of Education 4. Department of Justice 14. Department of Veterans Affairs 5.Department of the Interior. 15. Department of Homeland Security 6.Department of Agriculture 7. Department. of Commerce 8. Department of Labor. 9. Department of Health and Human Service. 10. Department of Housing and Urban Development.

2. The Legislative Branch

2.1. House of Representatives

2.1.1. Must be a least 25 years old Must be a citizen of the United States for 7 years Must be resident of the state you represent

2.2. Senate

2.2.1. Must be at least 30 years old Must be a citizen of the United States for 9 years Must live in state you represent

2.3. Implied Powers: Are powers that are not listed in the constitution

2.3.1. Example: Minimum Wage, Regulate Immigration and Punish Tax Evasion

2.4. Expressed Powers: Are powers that are listed in the constitution

2.4.1. Examples: Levy Taxes, Borrow Money, and Declare War.

3. The Judicial Branch

3.1. Powers

3.1.1. Its rulings cannot be appealed

3.2. Supreme Court

3.3. There are no requirements in the U.S. Constitution for a person to be nominated to become a Supreme Court

3.4. The President nominates someone for vacancy on the Court and the Senate votes to confirm the nominee

3.4.1. There are 9 Justices Supreme Court justices have life tenure, and so they serve until they die, resign, retire, or are impeached and removed from office.

3.5. The Head Justice Title is The Chief of Justice

4. The 10 Amendments

4.1. 1. Protects the People’s Freedom of Speech, Religion, Press, Assembly and the Right to Petition the Government.

4.1.1. 2. The Right to Bear Arms 3. Prohibits the sheltering of soldiers in your home during peacetime. 4. Protects against unreasonable search