Online Mind Mapping and Brainstorming

Create your own awesome maps

Online Mind Mapping and Brainstorming

Even on the go

with our free apps for iPhone, iPad and Android

Get Started

Already have an account? Log In

5 Generations of Computer Languages by Mind Map: 5 Generations of Computer Languages
0.0 stars - reviews range from 0 to 5

5 Generations of Computer Languages

First Generation Languages

Refered to as machine languages. Consists of a set of commands, which are represented as a series of 1s and 0s corresponding to the instruction set that is hard wired into the security of a microprocessor.

Second Generation Languages

Known as assembly languages, classified as a low level language because it is machine specific and each assembly command corrasponds on a 1 to 1 basis to a machine language instruction.

Third Generation Languages

High level languages that came about in the 1950's. Mostly used for business and scientific applications, and were considered major improvements from the first two generation languages.

Fourth Generation Languages

Fourth generation languages are used to help eliminate many of the strict puncuation and grammar rules which can complicate the third generation languages. They are also high level languages.

Fifth Generation Languages

Programming language based around solving problems using constraints given to the program, rather than using an algorithm written by a programmer.