Emily Lish Mind Map

Just an initial demo map, so that you don't start with an empty map list ...

Get Started. It's Free
or sign up with your email address
Emily Lish Mind Map by Mind Map: Emily Lish Mind Map

1. Adolecence

1.1. Cognative

1.1.1. During my adolescence, my egocentricity increased. I thought that everyone was watching my every move. I continued to do well in school. I excelled in math and reading and was placed in advanced math classes. Although many adolescents ignore danger and, I was always a stickler for the rules and was very cautious.

1.2. Physical

1.2.1. Puberty normally hits during adolescence and I started my menses around age 11. I was also experiences secondary sexual changes in my body such as breasts and body hair. I continued to grow to the height of 5'3". I think I stopped growing around age 16. I have struggled with my weight since adolescence and it fluctuated often.

1.3. Social/Personality Development

1.3.1. I struggled to develop me self concept. I tried to blend in with what my friends did and conform to what they thought was cool. I didn't succumb to much peer pressure when it came to doing drugs and drinking alcohol.

2. Early Adulthood

2.1. Social/Personality Development

2.1.1. I met my husband when I was 18 and fell in love. Two and a half years later, we were married on July 17, 2004. I moved out of my parents house and became responsible for myself. I developed a more concrete self concept and more confidence. My husband and I decided to not have children and are still in the midst of deciding what we want to do when we grow up. Since I do not have a finite career yet, I sometimes compare myself with others who are my age and more successful.

2.2. Physical

2.2.1. As an adult I have struggled with obesity. Lack of exercise and unhealthy eating have taken their toll on me. In the past year I have lost sixty pounds and plan on continuing to a healthy weight. Since I plan on being a Registered Dietician, it is important that I represent a healthy lifestyle.

2.3. Cognative

2.3.1. I have become better at problem solving due to more life experiences to draw from. I am applying myself and going back to college to purse a bachelors degree in Food and Nutrition.

3. Late Adulthood

3.1. Physical

3.1.1. My hair has all turned grey now. I have shrank to the height of 5', like both of my grandmas. I maintain a healthy weight with diet and exercise. I still maintain an active lifestyle and enjoying walking daily. I now wear my glasses all of the time. My family has a history of hypertension, and I developed it in my late sixties. I manage it with a healthy lifestyle and a small dose of prescription drugs.

3.2. Cognative

3.2.1. I still enjoy learning and try to read the paper daily. It helps to keep my cognitive skills up to speed. I have a harder time with my shortterm memory.

3.3. Social/Personality Development

3.3.1. I retired from my career as a Registered Dietician when I turned 66. It was quite a change, but I have learned to enjoy my retired life. When I review my life, I feel very blessed and fulfilled. Derek and I are still in love and enjoy a full,happy life together. I still enjoy traveling and Derek and I walk together daily for enjoyment.

4. Middle Adulthood

4.1. Physical

4.1.1. I start to decrease height. I suffer from slight osteoporosis, and try to supplement my calcium to counteract the problem. My hair is staring to turn grey and I have more wrinkles than before. I have been maintaining my weight with regular exercise and healthy eating. My prescription for glasses has become stronger and I wear them more often.

4.2. Cognative

4.2.1. My cognitive functioning has started to decrease a bit, but my life experience and expertise help me to compensate. It takes me slightly longer to recall long term-memories.

4.3. Social/Personality Development

4.3.1. I look back at what I have accomplished with my life. I feel happy. I have had a loving marriage for over twenty years. My husband Derek and I have more free time and are able to do more traveling. We finally go to New Zealand and going on a fishing/hiking adventure. I am still enjoying my career as as Registered Dietician. I love helping people become more healthy.

5. Death and Dying

5.1. Physical

5.1.1. At the age of 99, I am diagnosed with cancer. I decide that since I have lived a long life, I am not going to purse treatment. I decide to have hospice care when I am near the end and I die quietly and peacefully at my home.

5.2. Cognative

5.2.1. I have gone through all of the five stages of dying. I have a living will stating that I do not want to be kept alive by artificial means and also have a DNR.

5.3. Social

5.3.1. I have have said goodbye to all of my loved ones and fear leaving Derek behind. I fear for how he will do without me. I made arrangements for my funeral, which will be more like a celebration of life and have decided to have my remains cremated.

6. Prentatal and Newborn

6.1. Physical

6.1.1. I was conceived on Thanksgiving night 1982. After 33 weeks, my mom went in to premature labor. After 4 hrs of natural drug-free labor she gave birth to a 4lb 14oz girl. I stayed in the hospital for 2 weeks before going home.

6.2. Social / Personality development

6.2.1. My mother was drug and alcohol free during her pregnancy, and I was able to form attachments easily.

6.3. Cognative

6.3.1. Although I was premature, my mother was very healthy and active during her pregnancy and I didn't have any cognitive delays.

7. Infancy and Toddlerhood

7.1. Physical

7.1.1. Although I was born small, I gained weight quickly and was normal weigh and height by age one. As an infant i was able to used the rooting reflex to find milk for nourishment. When I was born, preemie clothes were hard to find and my grandma made me clothes from doll clothes patterns. I started to crawl for a few days around month 8, my I preferred scooting on my back. I starred walking around one year.

7.2. Cognative

7.2.1. I started to talk around a year. My first word was dada followed by mama. I learned to recognize my parents and grandpa, who we lived with. I also begin to understand the idea of permanance.

7.3. Social/Personality Development

7.3.1. I was a happy baby and as an infant I had an easy temperament. And formed a secure attachment with my mother and father. I start to feel empathy toward my mom and dad based on their facial features and

8. Preschool Period

8.1. Physical

8.1.1. I continued to grow at a normal rate. My mom had tried to potty train me at age 2, right before my brother was born, but after he was born, I reverted back to warring diapers till I was 3. I guess I thought if he could wear them then so could I. My brother and I got chicken pox at the same time. I was around 4. It's awesome that kids are now vaccinated for them and no longer get them. I learned I was right handed.

8.2. Cognative

8.2.1. My mom read to me nearly every night. It improved my syntax and by age 4, I was reading with her. I watched a small amount of television and what I did watch were things like Sesame Street and other learning programs. I also went to preschool a few days a week.

8.3. Social/Personality Development

8.3.1. My best friend lived down the street. Her name was Jackie and we went to preschool together. We played a lot together. My younger brother and I played a lot too.

9. Middle Childhood/School Age

9.1. Physical

9.1.1. When I entered school, I was one of the shorter kids. The summer before second grade, I fell off the monkey bars and broke my wrist on two places. This is a prime example of accidents that happen to children. I broke my right wrist and it made it hard to write while I had a cast and was still refining my fine motor skills. I didn’t have any learning disorders.

9.2. Cognative

9.2.1. I continued to read well and was placed in the advanced reading groups. I enjoyed working in groups and learn from others perspectives. My memory improves and I devlop meta memory.

9.3. Social/ Personality Development

9.3.1. I had a high self esteem and felt good about myself. Jackie remained my best friend. I had decent social competence and while I wasn’t the most popular kid, but had a good group of mostly girl friends that I liked. My parents were married and I had a happy Family life.