Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR)

Get Started. It's Free
or sign up with your email address
Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR) by Mind Map: Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR)

1. Information About CAR

1.1. Cordillera Administrative Region (Ilokano: Rehion/Deppaar Administratibo ti Kordiliera; Filipino: Rehiyong Pampangasiwaan ng Cordillera), designated as CAR, is an administrative region in the Philippines situated within the island of Luzon. The only landlocked region in the country, it is bordered by the Ilocos Region in the west and southwest, and by the Cagayan Valley on the north, east, and southeast. Prior to the 2015 census, it is the least populated and least densely-populated Region in the country. The region comprises eight provinces: Abra, Apayao, Benguet, Ifugao,Ilocos Sur, Ilocos Norte

2. It's History

2.1. During the Spanish occupation of the Philippines, Christianization and eventual subjugation of the mountain region proved difficult for the Spanish colonial government.[3] Several comandancias were established by the Spanish colonial government in strategic areas of the mountain region. Among them were Amburayan, Cabugaoan, Kayapa, Quiangan, Itaves, Apayaos, Lepanto, Benguet, Bontoc, Banaue, and Tiagan.[4][5][6] On August 18, 1908 during the American regime, Mountain Province was established by the Philippine Commission with the enactment of Act No. 1876. Ifugao, which was part of Nueva Vizcaya province,[7] and the former Spanish comandancias of Amburayan, Apayao, Benguet, Bontoc, Kalinga and Lepanto, were annexed to the newly created province as sub-provinces.[8][9] Amburayan was later abolished in 1920 and its corresponding territories were transferred to the provinces of Ilocos Sur and La Union. Lepanto was also reduced in size and its towns were integrated into the sub-provinces of Bontoc and Benguet, and to the province of Ilocos Sur.[3][10][11] On June 18, 1966, Republic Act No. 4695 was enacted to split Mountain Province and create four separate and independent provinces namely Benguet, Ifugao, Kalinga-Apayao, and Mountain Province.[12][13] Ifugao and Kalinga-Apayao were placed under the jurisdiction of the Cagayan Valley region,[14] with Benguet and Mountain Province placed under the Ilocos Region.

3. The Ethnic Groups OF CAR

3.1. The Tingguians are composed of sub-groups known as the Itneg tribes which includes Adasen, Balatok, Banaw, Belwang, Binungan, Gubang, Inlaud, Mabaka, Maeng, Masadiit, and Muyadan or Ammutan.:[29] Their places in Abra are as follows: Adasen — Lagayan, San Juan and Tineg Banaw — Daguioman, Malibcong, also found in Balbalan, Kalinga Binungan — Baay-Licuan and Lacub Balatok — in the villages of Amti, Kilong-olaw, & Danak, all in Boliney Belwang — in the village of Dao-angan in Boliney Gubang — Malibcong Inlaud — Lagangilang and Peñarrubia, in Lumaba village of Villaviciosa, in the villages of Abang and Patoc in Bucay, in Langiden, San Isidro, San Quintin, Danglas (also found in some parts of Nueva Era) Mabaka — Lacub and Malibcong Maeng — Luba, Tubo and Villaviciosa, (also found in San Emilio, Ilocos Sur, Banayoyo and other towns in Ilocos Sur) Masadiit — Sallapadan, Bucloc and in the village of Sapdaan in Manabo, and in barangays Poblacion, Bawiyan, and Dumagas in Boliney Ammutan a.k.a. Muyadan tribe — in Manabo

4. Religion

4.1. Roman Catholic is the single largest denomination in this region. However unlike most other provinces and regions of the Philippines, they only form a plurality in the region forming 60%-70% of the population while Protestants specifically Anglicans and Evangelicals have a very strong presence that forms 20%-30% of the population.[31][32]. Other religions such as traitional Animism have a significant presence in the region and it's mainly practiced by tribal people

5. Tourism

5.1. The Banaue Rice Terraces is among the sites visited by tourists in the region which is situated in the province of Ifugao. The terraces, ancient sprawling man-made structures from 2,000 to 6,000 years old, are a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and are part of the Rice Terraces of the Philippine Cordilleras. The Philippine Eagle and the Crested-Serpent Eagle was also found in the Last forest frontier of the North the Province of Apayao. Other natural attractions of the region include the Sumaguing Cave in Sagada and the mummy caves of Benguet and Mountain Province. There are four national parks: Cassamata Hill, Mount Data, Balbalasang-Balbalan, located in the province of Kalinga, and Mount Pulag, the highest mountain in Luzon at 2,922 metres (9,587 ft) above sea level. Kalinga also offers white water rafting along the Chico River. The city of Baguio, dubbed the "summer capital of the Philippines", is a major tourist destination in the region.

6. It's Divisions

6.1. Cordillera Administrative Region is politically subdivided into 6 provinces. It has 2 cities; the highly urbanized city of Baguio, and the component city of Tabuk. There are 1,176 barangays in the region. Geographically, the western half of Nueva Viscaya is part of the main Cordilleras, while its eastern half is part of the Caraballos, the meeting point of the Cordilleras and the Sierra Madre. There have been moves to reunify Nueva Vizcaya with the Cordilleras, however, no such legislation has yet been introduced in Congress.

7. Language

7.1. The Cordillera region is the most diversified ethno-linguistic region in the Philippines with its major languages having sub-dialect variations. The topographic formation of the Cordillera mountain range, which has greatly influenced the upstream migration of peoples in the Cordillera into the hinterland, corresponds the various dialects pattern formation. The disparity in linguistic ethnicity however, did not form variation in cultural development as almost every Cordillera people shares similar cultural identity among different tribes. Balangao, spoken in Natonin, Mountain Province. Bontoc, spoken in Bontoc, Mountain Province. Ibaloi, spoken in Benguet. Ifugao, spoken in Ifugao. Ilocano, spoken in Apayao, Abra, Kalinga, Mountain Province, Benguet, and Ifugao. It is the regional lingua franca. Isnag, spoken in Apayao. Itneg, spoken in Abra. Kalinga, spoken in Kalinga. Kalanguya, spoken in some parts of Benguet. Kankanaey, spoken in western Mountain Province and some parts of Benguet.