The Catholic Monarchs

Get Started. It's Free
or sign up with your email address
Rocket clouds
The Catholic Monarchs by Mind Map: The Catholic Monarchs

1. Who where they?

1.1. Ferdinand II of Aragon

1.2. Isabella I of Castile

2. The union of Castile and Aragon

2.1. 15th century there were 5 different Peninsular kingdoms

2.1.1. The Kingdom of Castile, Navarre, Aragon, Granada and Portugal.

2.2. How did they consolidate the royal power?

2.2.1. Professional Army

2.2.2. The Joly Brotherhood

2.2.3. The Royal Tax Office

2.2.4. The Viceroy and the corregidors

2.2.5. The Majorat

2.3. How did they achieve religious uniformity?

2.3.1. They forced Jews and muslims to convert to Christianity.

2.3.2. Those that refused were persecuted and expelled from the territory.

2.3.3. To maintain religious uniformity the established the Spanish Inquisition in 1478

3. Religion

3.1. Muslim, Mudéjar (in Christian lands) and Moorish

3.2. Christianity, Mozárabe (in Muslim lands) and Old Christian

3.3. Jewish, Sephardic Jewish (in Christian lands) and Converted (New Christians)

4. Economy

4.1. Castile

4.1.1. The main activity was agriculture and livestock farming (sheep farming)

4.1.2. The high quality wool of Castile was exported to Flanders and England.

4.1.3. The monarchy protected the sheep farming by created the institution called La Mesta, which limited agriculture to improve and encourage livestock farming.

4.2. Aragon

4.2.1. Agriculture continued to be the main activity in Aragon, but trade increased in Valencia and Barcelona due to their ports.

4.2.2. King Ferdinand introduced reforms which abolished some feudal rights. It allowed some peasants to own part of the lands. These measures were called Sentencia Arbitral de Guadalupe.

5. Society

5.1. Castile

5.1.1. The majority of population lived in poverty, they were poor peasants.

5.1.2. Nobility and clergy continued to make up the privileged class. They owned most of the land and they controlled the livestock.

5.1.3. Many Jews were dedicated to business.

5.2. Aragon

5.2.1. In the cities of Valencia and Barcelona, a strong bourgeoisie class developed dedicated to trade and artisan activities.

5.2.2. The majority of population was made up peasants without lands and who lived in poverty