Lawrence Kohlberg's Six Stages of Moral Development

Just an initial demo map, so that you don't start with an empty map list ...

Get Started. It's Free
or sign up with your email address
Lawrence Kohlberg's Six Stages of Moral Development by Mind Map: Lawrence Kohlberg's Six Stages of Moral Development

1. Stage 2 - Individualism and Exchange

1.1. At this stage children recognize that there is not just one right view that is handed down by the authorities.

2. Stage 1 - Obedience and Punishment Orientation

2.1. The child assumes that powerful authorities hand down a fixed set of rules which he or she must unquestioningly obey.

3. Stage 3 - Good Interpersonal Relationships

3.1. At this stage children--who are by now usually entering their teens--see morality as more than simple deals. They believe that people should live up to the expectations of the family and community and behave in "good" ways.

4. Stage 4 - Maintaining the Social Order

4.1. At stage 4 the respondent becomes more broadly concerned with society as a whole. Now the emphasis is on obeying laws, respecting authority, and performing one's duties so that the social order is maintained.

5. Stage 5 - Social Contract and Individual Rights

5.1. At stage 5, people begin to ask, "What makes for a good society?" They begin to think about society in a very theoretical way, stepping back from their own society and considering the rights and values that a society ought to uphold.

6. Stage 6 - Universal Principles

6.1. At stage 6, we define the principles by which we achieve justice.