My Road Map

Get Started. It's Free
or sign up with your email address
My Road Map by Mind Map: My Road Map

1. 14: Declaration of Independence: Written on July 4, 1776. This said they were 13 independent states rather than part of the British Empire.

2. 13: Second Continental Congress: Created the following year to organize the defense of the colonies.

3. 12: First Continental Congress: First organized in September 1774. Organized to create a protest.

4. 11: Intolerable Acts: series of laws passed in 1774 after the Boston Tea Party. They were meant to punish colonists for their defiance.

5. 9: Boston Massacre: On March 5, 1770 British soldiers killed 5 males and injured 6.

6. 8: Daughters of liberty: Created in 1765, group of women who participated in boycotts of British goods. They helped end the Stamp Act.

7. 10: Boston Tea Party: In 1733, the Sons of Liberty dressed as American Indians and destroyed an entire shipment of tea.

8. 7: Sons of Liberty: The Sons of Liberty started in the North American British colonies in 1766. They formed to protect the rights of colonists. They are most famous for the Boston Tea Party.

9. 6: Quartering Acts: In 1765 these acts demanded that British troops were given food and shelter over American colonists.

10. 5: Townshend Acts: These Acts were enacted in 1767. They placed taxes on paper, tea, oil, glass, and paint with the motive to raise 40,000 a year.

11. 4: Stamp Act: The Stamp Act was passed in March, 1765. Stamp taxes were raised on documents, paper letters, and other items.

12. 3: Sugar Act: Law passed in 1764 by the British Parliament. The goal was meant to raise revenue from the American colonists.

13. 2: Proclamation of 1763: On October 9th, 1763, King George the second issued this proclamation which forbade all settlement past a line drawn along the Appalachian Mountains.

14. 1: French and Indian War: In the 1754 George Washington led troops with the intention to force out the French. His troops massacred a scouting party which led to many wars to come.