Get Started. It's Free
or sign up with your email address

1. Two Types of Cell Division

1.1. Eukaryotes

1.1.1. Mitosis A vegetative dividion, whereby each daughter cell is genetically identical to the parent cell

1.1.2. Meiosis A reproductive division, whereby the number of chromosomes in the daughter cell is reduced to half to produce haploid gametes

2. Phases of Mitosis

2.1. Interphase

2.2. Prophase

2.3. Metapahase

2.4. Anaphase

2.5. Telophase

2.6. Cytokinesis

3. Types of Meiosis

3.1. Meiosis I

3.1.1. The first Meiotic division is a reduction division (diploid > haploid)in which homologous chromosomes are separated

3.2. Meiosis II

3.2.1. The second division separates sister (chromatids there chromatids may not be identical due to crossing over propahse I)

4. Phases of Meiosis II

4.1. Prophase II

4.2. Metapahse II

4.3. Anaphase II

4.4. Telophase II + Cytokinesis

5. Why do cell divide?

5.1. large cells have difficulty transporting enough nutrients across their membrane

5.2. Cells are limited in size by their SURFACE AREA and VOLUME ratio

6. What is Cell Division?

6.1. the process by which a parent cell divides into two or more daughter cells.

7. Phases of Meiosis I

7.1. Prophase II

7.2. Metaphase II

7.3. Anaphase I

7.4. Telophase I + Cytokinesis

8. Reference:

8.1. Stages of Meiosis | BioNinja