Phases of SDLC

Get Started. It's Free
or sign up with your email address
Phases of SDLC by Mind Map: Phases of SDLC

1. Analysis Phase

1.1. Activities

1.1.1. Study the current system It is important to study the current system to understand its strengths and weaknesses before designing a new system

1.1.2. Determine system requirements

1.1.3. Write requirements report

2. Implementation Phase

2.1. Activities

2.1.1. Purchase and install hardware and/or software Programming languages, development tools, and application software needed for the new information system are purchased, installed, and tested to ensure that they work correctly

2.1.2. Create applications

2.1.3. Test applications

2.1.4. Finalize documentation

2.1.5. Train users

2.1.6. Convert data

2.1.7. Convert to new system

3. Maintenance Phase

3.1. Activities

3.1.1. Operate equipment

3.1.2. Make backups

3.1.3. Provide help to users

3.1.4. Fix bugs

3.1.5. Optimize for speed and security

3.1.6. Revise software as necessary to meet business needs Upgrades to operating system and commercial software

4. Planning Phase

4.1. Activites

4.1.1. Assemble the project team It is like building a house. It is important to have a plan. Initial plans for an information system are developed during the planning phase

4.1.2. Justify project

4.1.3. Choose development methodology

4.1.4. Develop a project schedule

4.1.5. Produce a project development plan

5. Design Phase

5.1. Activities

5.1.1. Identify potential solutions Project team should brainstorm and researching case studies at Web sites and in computer publications to come up with solutions

5.1.2. Evaluate solutions and select the best

5.1.3. Select hardware and software

5.1.4. Develop application specifications

5.1.5. Obtain approval to implement the new system