Eight Mindful Steps to Happiness: Walking the Buddha's Path.

Get Started. It's Free
or sign up with your email address
Eight Mindful Steps to Happiness: Walking the Buddha's Path. by Mind Map: Eight Mindful Steps to Happiness: Walking the Buddha's Path.

1. Skillful understanding

1.1. Four Noble Truths

1.1.1. Dissatisfaction Birth Old age Sickness Separation (from what we love) Association (with what we hate) Not getting what we want Getting what we don't want

1.1.2. The origin of dissatisfaction Desire Impermanence Unsatisfactoriness Selflessness

1.1.3. The cessation of dissatisfaction It exists! It's true!

2. Skillful thinking

2.1. Letting go

2.1.1. Areas Possessions People Ideas, believes & opinions Mind & body

2.1.2. Obstacles Fear

2.1.3. Tools

2.2. Loving friendliness

2.2.1. Areas Family Friends Strangers Enemies

2.2.2. Obstacles Anger

2.2.3. Tools Patience Mindfulness

2.3. Compassion

2.3.1. Areas Ourselves Others Children Partner

2.3.2. Obstacles Lack of self-compassion Narcissism

2.3.3. Tools Personal experience of suffering Loving friendliness Mindfulness

3. Skillful speech

3.1. Always truthful

3.1.1. True

3.1.2. Correct

3.1.3. Beneficial

3.1.4. Timely

3.2. Uplifting, not malicious or unkind.

3.2.1. Does not destroy friendships

3.2.2. Does not damage reputations

3.3. Gentle, not crude or harsh

3.3.1. Dont Abuse Profanity Sarcasm Hypocrisy Blunt & belittling critism Lie

3.3.2. Do Awaken Console Encourage

3.4. Moderate, not useless or meaningless

3.4.1. Gossip

3.4.2. Chitchat / Idle talk

4. Skillful action

4.1. The five precepts

4.1.1. Abstain from Killing Including Obstacles Stealing Including Obstacles Speaking falsely Sexual misconduct Including Obstacles Misusing alcohol or other intoxicants Including Obstacles

5. Skillful livelihood

5.1. Does it cause harm to others or myself?

5.1.1. Weapons

5.1.2. Intoxicans

5.1.3. Poison Includes Hate journalism Hate politics Drugs

5.1.4. Killing

5.1.5. Fighting

5.1.6. Gambling

5.1.7. Crime

5.2. Does it cause me to break the five moral precepts of skillful action?

5.3. Does it give me unwholesome thoughts and feelings?

5.3.1. Does it make it hard for me to concentrate?

5.3.2. Does it cause restlessness?

6. Skillful effort

6.1. 10 fetters

6.1.1. 1st stage Belief in the existence of a permanent self or soul Doubt in the message of Buddha Belief that one can end suffering merely by following rules and rituals

6.1.2. 2nd & 3rd stage Greed for sensual pleasures (gross greed) Hatred

6.1.3. 4th stage Subtle desire to exist in immaterial form Subtle desire to exist in fine material form Conceit, or the underlying perception of self-identity Restlessness & worry Ignorance

6.2. 5 hindrances

6.2.1. Greed Food Things Lust

6.2.2. Ill will Hatred Anger Resentment

6.2.3. Dullness & drowsiness

6.2.4. Restlessness & worry

6.2.5. Doubt

6.3. Tools

6.3.1. Prevent negative states of mind 5 points to mindfulness Morality Mindfulness Wisdom Paitience Effort

6.3.2. Overcome negative states of mind

6.3.3. Cultivate positive states of mind

6.3.4. Maintain positive states of mind

7. Skillful mindfulness

7.1. The four foundations of mindfulness

7.1.1. Mindfulness of the body Mindfulness of the breath Mindfulness of posture Mindfulness of the parts of the body

7.1.2. Mindfulness of feelings Wordly Examples Result Unwordly Examples

7.1.3. Mindfulness of the mind Greedy Non-greedy

7.1.4. Mindfulness of mental objects Examples = Thoughts Fetters Hindrances The five aggregates of existence Factors of enlightenment The four noble truths

8. Skillful concentration

8.1. Characteristics

8.1.1. Always Wholesome One-pointedness Mindfulness

8.1.2. Never Greed Hate Delusion

8.2. One-pointed concentration

8.2.1. Components (a) Initial application of thought (b) Sustained application of thought (c) Joy (d) Happiness (e) Concentration

8.2.2. Levels 1 All components 2 Remove (a) and (b) 3 Remove (a), (b) and (c) 4 Remove (a), (b), (d) and (d)

8.3. How-to

8.3.1. Focus on breath (or similar), ignore thoughts, feelings (and similar)