Three branches of government

Get Started. It's Free
or sign up with your email address
Rocket clouds
Three branches of government by Mind Map: Three branches of government

1. The Legislative branch

1.1. House of Representatives serve two year terms.

1.1.1. Senate serves up to six years and can go for reelection, only about 1/3 is up for re-election at a time.

1.2. Implied powers-are not states in the constitution.

1.3. Elastic clause-the ability to pass laws that are necessary and proper at the time.

1.4. Expressed powers-stated in the constitution.

1.5. Enumerated powers-powers states in article 1, rights as a US citizen.

1.6. The legislative branch powers are making laws, declares war, regulates interstate and foreign commerce, controls taxing, can also veto a law.

1.7. Two chambers of congress

1.7.1. House of Representatives Must be at least 25 years old, live in US for seven years, and a resident in the state they want to represent. There are 435 Representatives in congress.

1.7.2. Senate Must be 30 years old, must be a citizen for 9 years, resident in the state you’re wanting to represent. Currently 100 senators in congress.

2. The Executive Branch

2.1. To become president you’re required to be a natural born citizen, resident for 14+ years, 35 years old minimum.

2.1.1. Same requirements for Vice President

2.2. A term limit is two four year terms

2.3. Powers or branch- veto, appoint federal posts, appoint federal judges, grant pardons for a crime.

2.4. A presidents role is be a role model for our country and make good decisions to lead us forward,

2.5. There are a total of 15 executive departments

2.5.1. US department of the treasury, US department department of commerce, department of defense, department of justice, US department of veterans affairs, US department of energy, US department of the interior, US department of homeland security, department of transportation, department of education, health and human services, department of state, department of Agriculture, department of labor, department of housing and urban development.

3. Judicial branch

3.1. There is no qualifications to be part of the Supreme Court.

3.2. You get selected by appointment from The President

3.3. Currently 9 justices but the total has been 102

3.4. Justices do not have a term they just serve until death, or serves 16 years.

3.5. Head justice is called Chief Justice, he has the most power.

3.6. Supreme Court ruling can’t be overturned.