Online Mind Mapping and Brainstorming

Create your own awesome maps

Online Mind Mapping and Brainstorming

Even on the go

with our free apps for iPhone, iPad and Android

Get Started

Already have an account? Log In

The Five Generations of Computer Languages by Mind Map: The Five Generations of Computer Languages
0.0 stars - reviews range from 0 to 5

The Five Generations of Computer Languages

First-generation languages

Also referred to as machine languages.First generation were the first languages available for programming computers.

Machine languages consist of a set of commands , which are represented as a series of 1s and 0s,corresponding to the instruction set that is hard wired into the security of a micro processor.

Second-generation languages

Also reffered to as assembly languages, were hailed as a significant improvement over machine languages.

Like a machine language, an assembly language is classified as a low-level language because it is machine specific-each assembly command corresponds on a one-to-one basis to a machine language instruction.

Third-generation languages

High level languages that were originally conceived in the 1950s were dubbed third-generation languages because they seemed a mojor improvement a major improvement over machine and assembly languages.

Third-generation languages, such as COBOL and Fortan, were used extensivelyfor buisness and scientific applications.

Fourth-generation languages

In 1969,computer scientist began to develop high-level languages, which were called fourth-generation languages.

Fourth generation, such as SQL and RPG, eliminate many of the strict punctuation and grammar rules that complicate third-generation languages.

Fifth-generation languages

Prolog and other declarative languages became closely identified with the fith-generation project and were classified by some experts as fith-generation projects.

In 1982, a group of Japanease researchers began work on a fith-generation computer project that used Prolog.