European Capital of Culture

Get Started. It's Free
or sign up with your email address
European Capital of Culture by Mind Map: European Capital of Culture

1. Recent Title Holders

1.1. 1985 - Athens

1.2. 2006 - Patras

1.3. 2007 - Sibiu, Luxembourg

1.4. 2008 - Liverpool, Stavanger

1.5. 2009 - Vilnius, Linz

1.6. 2010 - Essen, Istanbul, Pécs

1.7. 2011 - Turku, Tallinn

2. Origins of this event

2.1. The European Capital of Culture programme was conceived in 1983 by Melina Mercouri.

2.2. Mercouri believed that at the time, culture must be given the same attention as politics and economics

2.3. The European City of Culture programme was launched in the summer of 1985 and Athens became the first title-holder.

3. The term of "Capital of Culture"

3.1. The European Capital of Culture is a city designated by the European Union for a period of one calendar year during which it is given a chance to showcase its cultural life and cultural development. (Taken from