Online Mind Mapping and Brainstorming

Create your own awesome maps

Online Mind Mapping and Brainstorming

Even on the go

with our free apps for iPhone, iPad and Android

Get Started

Already have an account? Log In

The 4 Ennobling Tasks (that are Known/Realized Truths/Realities for the Noble Ones) by Mind Map: The 4 Ennobling Tasks (that are Known/Realized Truths/Realities for the Noble Ones)
0.0 stars - reviews range from 0 to 5

The 4 Ennobling Tasks (that are Known/Realized Truths/Realities for the Noble Ones)

supramundane right liberation

supramundane right knowledge/understanding

Sabbapāpassa akaraṇaṃ, kusalassa upasampadā; Sacitta­pari­yo­dapa­naṃ, etaṃ buddhāna sāsanaṃ (DHP#183) Refraining from all evil actions Committing to wholesome intentions Purifying the mind ...This is the message of the Buddha(s)

The Central Goal: Liberation from Dukkha (the ultimate/supreme freedom/peace/happiness/bliss to be had in this very life). One Taste - Freedom.

8-Fold Noble Path

Right/Skillful/Wise/Wholesome/Attuned/Complete/Perfect = leading to liberation (freedom from dukkha) Wrong/Unskillful/Foolish/Unwholesome/Disruptive/Disturbing/Flawed = leading to more dukkha "Thus, bhikkhus, the path of the disciple in higher training possesses eight factors, the arahant possesses ten factors."

1. Truth of Dukkha (As A Task: what is to be known/understood completely) dukkha sacca

all *conditioned/conditional* phenomena are dukkha

2. Truth of the Origin of Dukkha (As A Task: what is to be abandoned) samudaya sacca

desiring/craving/thirsting for and clinging/grasping/attachment to what is pleasurable (desires, thirsting and feeding), and aversion to what is not, , results in dukkha an even deeper level identifying with and clinging to the 5 khandas (ignorance) ...self-grasping mind

3. Truth of the Cessation of Dukkha (As A Task: what is to be witnessed/realized/attained) nirodha sacca

that putting an end to this craving/thirsting, also means the cessation of dukkha (dependent arising - when this is not, that is not)

transcendent dependent origination? (12 links of liberation)

etymology: nir = without/non udaya = arising non-arising (opposite of samudaya = simulataneous arising, co-arising)

4. Truth of the Path to Liberation/Freedom (As A Task: to cultivate/train/develop) magga sacca

The Path

The Central Question/Problem: Dukkha (subtle underlying discontentment, difficulty, stress, unsatisfactoriness, flawedness, suffering, uneasiness, ennui, anguish, dissatisfaction, birth-disease-oldage-death, 5-grasping-aggregates, a burden, that which is difficult to bear)







The Gradual Training (anupubbi-katha)

Dāna (generosity)

Sīla (virtue)

Sagga (benefits (heavens))

Adinava (drawbacks)

Nekhamma (renunciation)

ONLY when the mind is made pure/bright by these practices THEN one should take up the Four Ennobling Tasks

compare gradual training to 10-fold path, 3-fold training, and 4 noble truths

hearing the teaching

gaining faith

going forth

rules of discipline

purifying livelihood


sense restraint

moderate eating


clear comprehension


establishing mindfulness

abandoning hindrances

four jhānas

knowledge & vision

mind-made body

psychic powers

divine ear

reading minds

past lives

divine eye

noble truths